The Mudrashram Home Page

The Reading Room

The Psychic Room

The Meditation Room


To Order Our Services


Mudrashram Institute of Spiritual Studies




The Impact of Spiritual Ministry on Karma

By George A. Boyd ©2003

When we examine the methods of spiritual ministry across the seven rays, we find the following seven types:


Quality and Method


Transmutation or dissolution of karma by Light Immersion – here an Initiate sends the Light, which burns away the individual’s karma. This is done with an aim to confer initiation: expansion of the potentials of consciousness of all levels. This is called Translation or Shaktipat.


Suffusion in the Illumined Stream of Wisdom – here an Initiate awakens the intuition of an individual’s Superconscious mind, which activates the individual’s wisdom, discernment and clear insight. The individual sees the impact of his/her behavior or patterns of thinking and changes them as a result of this insight.


Augmentation of the faculty spiritual discernment – here an Initiate awakens the faculty of discernment as in the 2nd Ray, but the emphasis is on shifting the individual’s sense of identity: from ego, to Self, to a nucleus of identity, to essential ensouling entity. Through this attunement, the individual is enlightened and knows the inner divinity of the Soul directly. This attunement confers Gnosis.


Balancing the poles of spiritual development – here an Initiate attunes the ensouling entity, the vehicles of consciousness, the spirit and the channel of the kundalini shakti to the same nodal point. This confers harmony and perfect attunement with the Divine Law (Dharma). In the Mudrashram® teachings, this is called Guru Kripa Yoga.


Attunement with the Light through the attentional principle – here the attentional principle receives a pure beam of the Light, which it is trained to direct to others or one’s own vehicles. This training leads to the ability to grant initiation and carry out spiritual ministry to others. This method is emphasized in the Mudrashram® Tradition for the training of its disciples.


Purification of character and salvation of the spirit – this method directly sends the Light to the spirit and guides it to open the channels of the Nada upon its path. This purifies the vehicles, leading to purification of the character and the inner vehicles of consciousness. This method ultimately leads the spirit to salvation: permanent union with the Divine. This mystic path of spiritual development has been called Nada Yoga, Soul Travel or Surat Shabd Yoga.


Awakening of the Kundalini Shakti – in this method, the Initiate raises the kundalini to a specific vehicle and fixes it there. Concurrently, the individual may receive an immersion of the Cleansing and Healing Nectar (Amrita), the Purifying Fire, or the Holy Breath, which infuse and enliven the inner vehicles and awaken their powers. Initiates in this tradition may also anchor the Light into an inner center (Secreting the Light), fix or lock the attention in union with an inner nucleus of identity or ensouling entity, or guide the attention through the Inner Planes to contemplate their own inner form. This ecstasy-bestowing tradition is called Kundalini Yoga.

These types of spiritual ministry impact the karma of the aspirant or disciple in different ways.

Type of Ministry

Primary Karmic Effect

Secondary Karmic Effect(s)

1st Ray

Adi Karma (opening the potentials of the Soul and its vehicles)

Kriyaman (specifically, the development of the higher aspects of the will)

2nd Ray

Kriyaman Karma (guiding the individual to operate from a higher aspect of his/her nature)

Pralabdha Karma (insight leading to new choices, which alter patterns of destiny)

3rd Ray

Kriyaman Karma (changing the perspective from which one operates)


4th Ray

Adi Karma

Kriyaman and Sinchit (the Light balances all four poles)

5th Ray

Pralabdha Karma (activating the attentional principle by which one can work with and transcend the template of destiny)

Adi, Kriyaman and Sinchit (when the disciple can make attunements, he/she can directly work with the other forms of karma)

6th Ray


Kriyaman (reformation of character, instillation of morality)

7th Ray

Kriyaman Karma (adjustment of the context through which the individual operates empowering higher octaves of the will)


Dominant Kriyaman Karma approaches - those approaches that primarily impact Kriyaman Karma (Rays 2, 3, 5 and 7) share an emphasis of shifting the individual’s perspective and volition from reactive, egoic functioning to choosing and relating from a higher center.

Dominant Adi Karma approaches - these approaches anchored on Rays 1 and 4 transform the ensouling entity and its vehicles. This inner transformation in turn powerfully impacts the individual’s perspective and behavior.

Pralabdha Karma-focused approach - this 5th Ray approach teaches an individual to study the wellsprings of human life with dispassion and to regard it with compassion and care. Here the individual works with human life to bring the personality into optimal development, then learns to work with the spiritual faculties in the same way. It emphasizes work with the attentional principle.

Sinchit Karma-focused approach - this 6th Ray spiritual redemption and salvatory approach specifically works with Sinchit Karma and emphasizes work with the spirit.

The "forgiveness of sins" or dissolution of karma is not magical, miraculous or the automatic result of adopting rituals or creeds. Rather, it is the orderly working out of the four types of karma through the Great Work of the Soul. We invite the interested seeker to learn about how to do this Great Work in full consciousness and become a participant in the actualization of his/her full personal and spiritual potential.


The Mudrashram Home Page

The Reading Room

The Psychic Room

The Meditation Room


To Order Our Services